How To be A Publisher In the E-Age… And Keep Your E-Sanity

So it’s finally happened. No, not the book. Keep up!

That’s happened too, of course.

But even more exciting than that! I now have a reliable electric supply AND a reliable internet connection.

No, I can’t believe it either.

The components for the solar power arrived last month (just in time for the rainy season) and this past few days I finally took delivery of a 4G internet service. Yep, that’s me on the far left

Of course it’s not 4G by Western standards. But by local African standards, and compared to last week,  it’s simply incredible. And once the novelty of being able to listen to radio and watch youtube videos wears off I’ll have no more excuses for my haphazard postings here on MWi, and my poor communications generally.

Fact is my old ISP service had deteriorated to the extent that I’ve only been able to get into my own blog two or three times a month. To all those who commented recently and were seemingly ignore, it wasn’t deliberate.

So be warned. I’m back, and with lost time to make up!

And we’ll start right here by announcing what you probably all knew already, that How To Be A Writer In The E-Age finally went live this past week and is even now storming the Amazon charts.

Check it out on amazon.com and amazon.co.uk..

It will be available on other platforms shortly, and the POD release is imminent too.

Chasing this we have Paul Dillon’s The Magic In the Receiver (any day now) and the first of  Terry Galanoy’s Bloodgold series.

And no, we haven’t forgotten our very own Rapunzel or St. Mallory’s, but both fell foul of the constant problems with electricity and net here. Expect to see them all in the near future, as well as a resumption of my observations on the publishing and writing scene and some more insights into my life here in West Africa!

Okay, short and brief this time, but don’t get used to it. I’ll be back to normal next post!

  1. Halle-frickin-luyeah.

  2. HOORAY! Hello, Mark!
    Also, yeah, St Mall’s. Fell foul of exams at this end, but I just finished a new chapter of it which I’ve sent to Charley for feedback 🙂

    • Charley R
    • July 4th, 2012

    MARK! YOU’RE ALIVE!
    Hehe, Le Mim has apparently just sent me a new chapter according to her comment above, so I shall be seeing to that and doing what little I can with it before I am dragged off to suffer on Dartmoor 😛

    • Dartmoor is good for two things, Ms. Charley. Wonderful geology and following in the footsteps of Sherlock. Great for inspiration.

        • Charley R
        • July 4th, 2012

        It is, it really is … if only I weren’t carrying my entire bodyweight in rucksack and supplies with me. Bah, I shall enjoy the scenery … if I see any of it through the rain xP

        • Don’t mention rain! Just entering the rainy season here. Will start to get serious later this month.

            • Charley R
            • July 4th, 2012

            It’s always rainy over here …. but probably not in the same way it is over there. I won’t mention it. Maybe it’ll go away if we don’t talk about it…

  3. Glad you’re back. Know anyone who reads Italian?

  4. I’d been wondering where you were…glad you’re back and linked in! Just downloaded a sample of the book (sorry that’s my policy: never buy outright) but it does look damn good and I’ll probably cave in and buy it within the next 24 hours!

    • annerallen
    • July 4th, 2012

    Yay solar power! Yay 4 G! And yay HOW TO BE A WRITER IN THE E-AGE..AND KEEP YOUR E-SANITY! which you managed to get edited and coded by communicating over three continents in spite of your steam-powered Internet and gerbil-generated electricity. Thanks, Mark and Jay! This book is awesome if I do say so myself (after all it’s half written by literary icon Catherine Ryan Hyde.) It’s already had mentions from Nathan Bransford, Kristen Lamb and Porter Anderson. We’re off and away….

  5. And Mark, how I have missed your power-packed posts. Welcome back!

  6. Yeah! Welcome back into the e-age *giggles* (already made it to Part 2 he he he).

    Hope you see enough sun to keep you in You-tube videos and all that to last you… um, through the ‘non-sunny’ season. *giggles and grins*

    :} Cathryn

    • gerrymccullough
    • July 5th, 2012

    Great to see you back, Mark! I’ve shared and tweeted this – looking forward to more.

  7. Mark, welcome back! Missed you, man.

  8. Always interesting. csb

  9. Welcome back, and congrats to MWiP and to Anne and Catherine! I had heard about the book but haven’t checked it out yet… will do so now. I am so glad that you are going to be in communication! We’ll try to stay cool (in the 90’s Fahrenheit here in New England) and you try to stay dry.

Leave a Reply

